Greek Salmon Wraps for the Bride

This is Megan. Isn’t she gorgeous? She’s always laughing or smiling. I love that about her. And this month, she has plenty to smile about. Our homegirl and fellow blogger Megan of Wanna Be A Country Cleaver is getting married.

I confess, I ‘something borrowed’ this photo from Megan’s blog. It was taken during a bridal shower thrown by her best friend, Beka. If you click on the photo, it will take you to Megan’s post about her shower. It’s a lovely photo of a lovely bride-to-be.

And she’s not just marrying any old guy. She’s gettin’ hitched to a sweet hunk-o-burning-love named Ben. They make such a cute couple and we’re so happy for them. I know you’re dying to see them together. To view Megan’s blog post with engagement photos, click HERE. To celebrate their big day, Megan’s blogging friends are throwing her a virtual bridal shower and I am thrilled particpate.

While considering what to make, I pondered what Megan might like. She’s so laid back and fun, I know she’d enjoy anything and everything. But the one thing that kept coming to mind was salmon. Girlfriend has a serious salmon addiction. It’s why she was chosen to be a part of a small but very prestigious group of food bloggers selected to serve as ambassadors for Copper River Salmon. I still remember the day she posted a story about opening day of the Copper River salmon season. Y’all, they flew that salmon into Seattle on a jet. And there was a red carpet! Folks in Seattle take salmon season very seriously.

What to make, then? Well, something salmon. Obviously. And since we needed another entree, I decided to create a Greek Salmon Wrap in Megan’s honor.

A sandwich so pretty it should have a bow on it.

I think she’ll be happy with my choice. Here’s how it all came together.

Greek Salmon Wraps – simple ingredients, tremendous flavor

For two large wraps you’ll need:
Salmon, 6-8 ozs. – in this case, applewood-smoked Alaskan sockeye salmon
Greek yogurt dressing (see below)
Naan, pita or the flatbread of your choice, 2 pieces
Kalamata olives (pitted), fresh baby dill & capers
Lettuce, tomatoes, cucumber & purple onion, very thinly sliced
Kosher salt & course-ground black pepper, a pinch of each

For the Greek Yogurt Dressing:
1/2 cup thick Greek yogurt or kefir, plain
zest & juice of one small lemon
1 teaspoon of Greek Seasoning (like Cavender’s or Konriko)

To make, measure all ingredients into a small bowl and whisk to combine. You can make this in advance for the best flavor; I mixed mine up the night before.

To start, lay one piece of flatbread on a sheet of parchment or waxed paper (which will make these a lot easier to roll later).

Start with a good schmear of the yogurt dressing.

Next, add a layer of smoked salmon. Don’t be stingy.

Add a sprinkling of shaved purple onion.

And then a smattering of olives, capers & baby dill; so gorgeous!

Then be a neat freak & perfectly line up your cucumber slices.

Follow that with a layer of tomatoes and a light dusting of salt & pepper.

Top with a layer of spring greens & a little more yogurt dressing.

Now here’s where the parchment comes in handy. Starting at one end, use the paper to help roll the sandwich into a tight wrap, tucking each side in as you go – just like wrapping a burrito. Once wrapped, use a piece of baker’s twine to tie it up. I tied a bow on each end so I could slice the wrap in half. This will make 4 small sandwiches or 2 large ones – your choice.

Wrapped tight & ready to eat. What do you think, Megan?

Helpful Hints:
1. Thin, soft flatbread works best because it rolls up easier.
2. A mandolin, if you have one, makes perfectly thin slices; I use an OXO.
3. Any salmon you love will work, including leftover baked or grilled salmon.
4. Don’t like salmon? Substitute grilled chicken, steak or even hummus.
5. These are portable & perfect for picnics; keep chilled until ready to eat.
6. Speaking of picnics, grab a crisp white wine for your pic-a-nic basket.

As I mentioned before, our Megan has a salmon fetish. But you don’t have to take my word for it. Click on any of the links below to check out her gorgeous collection of salmon recipes. Be forewarned – your mouth WILL water.

Copper River Salmon Burgers & Healthified Coleslaw
Grilled Salmon with Beurre Blanc
Salmon Ceviche
Salmonkopita
Oven Fried Salmon Wontons
“Whole Lotta Herbs” Glazed Salmon

And now, here are the links to our virtual bridal shower bloggers. Please drop by and see what they’re making!

Appetizers:
Heather of Farmgirl GourmetDeviled Eggs 3 Ways
Gina of Running to the KitchenEdamame Prosciutto Crostini
Kirsten of Comfortably DomesticCarmelized Onion & Goat Cheese Puffs
Tina of My Life As A Mrs.Easy Bacon Cream Cheese Roll-Ups
Rachel of Baked By RachelSausage & Red Pepper Stuffed Mushrooms
Allison of Decadent PhilistinesRetro Cheese Cookies

Drinks:
Laurie of Simply ScratchBlueberry Lemonade Spritzers
Cassie of Bake Your DayLemon-Berry Granita with Balsamic & Basil

Entrees:
Michelle of A Recipe JunkieFresh Melon & Crispy Proscuitto Salad
Jeanne of Inside NanaBread’s HeadGreek Salmon Wraps (Hey, that’s me!)

Desserts:
Kathryn of London BakesEton Mess Shooters
Julie of Table For TwoMiniature Cherry Pies
Lauren of Lauren’s LatestSummer Strawberry Jello Pie
KimBee of Cravings Of A LunaticRed Velvet Ice Cream Cupcakes
Kat of Tenaciously YoursGood For You Bars
Mads of Le Petite PancakeCheesecake-Stuffed Strawberries

Congratulations, Megan and Ben! We’re beyond excited for you. And as The Complete Package and I celebrate our 30th anniversary this September, we remind you to always laugh together, never go to bed angry, try not to say anything you can’t take back, and always, always think of yourselves as a team because together you really can conquer anything. We wish you much love on your special day and many, many years of joy. We love you, Megan!

47 Comments

Filed under Food & Recipes

47 responses to “Greek Salmon Wraps for the Bride

  1. Pingback: Edamame crostini

  2. Pingback: Sausage and Red Pepper Stuffed Mushrooms | Baked by Rachel

  3. Pingback: Lemon-Berry Granita with Balsamic & Basil | Bake Your Day

  4. Pingback: Mini Cherry Pies » Table for Two

  5. How very fitting to bring something with salmon to the shower! These rolls look wonderful, I’m so impressed at how you managed to fit so many delicious things in there yet still make something that looks dainty and party-perfect!

    • Thanks, Kathryn. It wasn’t easy to roll that puppy up into a tight roll after stuffing it like that, but it worked and it was worth it. And your Eton Mess would be a perfect follow-up to the salmon wraps. Love your blog, by the way!

  6. Jeanne – you just Get Me. O.o And I think your best tip/trick – don’t be stingy with the salmon – was just perfection. Its the way it should be. If some salmon is good, more must be better!!

    I adore you all for everything you girls have done. Seriously, I’m so moved. Wow! I luva ya. XOXO

    • Awww… I love you too, Megan! We had such a great time putting this together for you. Julie & Cassie really did a great job organizing us. So happy you loved the salmon wrap. Wish we could have sat down together to share it. Big hugs and much love to you and Ben. It’s going to be a great day. I can’t believe it’s so close now! You’re going to make a beautiful bride.

  7. Pingback: Red Velvet Ice Cream Cupcakes | Cravings of a Lunatic

  8. I clearly should have been on hand IN PERSON for this bridal shower! LOL Oh, if only I wasn’t opposed to crashing someone else’s day! ^_^ …Thanks for the visit to my blog, and for the nice comment. And Happy Anniversary upcoming to you and yours too! :-]

  9. Pingback: A Surprise for the Bride! Caramelized Onion and Goat Cheese Puffs « Comfortably Domestic

  10. I am in love with these wraps. I think these would be perfect for an upcoming party I am throwing. So gorgeous. I think it would have been so much fun to have thrown this in person. We all would have had so much fun together.

    • Agreed! All of us in one room with a gigantic table full of fabulous food would have been spectacular. Then we could have seen Megan’s reaction in person and stuffed our faces all at the same time. Still, it was a lot of fun to put all this together for Megan & Ben’s big day. If you try the salmon wraps, let me know how they turned out. I highly recommend the smoked salmon, but I’m sure it would be just as good with grilled or broiled salmon as well. Or grilled chicken. Or a nice rare steak. Or…

  11. Awww! You guys are makin’ me tear up here with all that sweetness & love! Perfect for a bridal shower. Also perfect are these *gorgeous* salmon wraps. Wow! What I wouldn’t do to share a plate full of these babies with all the girls at Megan’s shower. Mmmm…smoked salmon is the best idea for our Seattle Lovely. Well done!

    • So much love up in here! Salmon seemed like a good idea, and after eating that wrap it was definitely confirmed. I’m ready to start on Megan’s list of salmon goodies now. It’s just a question of which one to start with.

  12. Pingback: SURPRISE! Cheesecake-Stuffed Strawberries | La Petite Pancake

  13. Holy moly. Jonathan would probably die a happy man if he could bite into one of those wraps right now. I have to make these out of my dutiful obligation as a loving wife. (I wouldn’t mind a wrap or two myself.) Wow wow wow. Awesome job!

  14. These are gorgeous, and perfect for the shower!

  15. YUM! I’m in love with salmon and it’s so great that you rolled it up into one with some great ingredients on the inside!! Thanks a million for participating and dealing with my crazy emails ;)

    • Thanks for inviting me, Julie. I love Megan dearly, and was thrilled to be included. Thanks a million for organizing all of us. You and Cassie did a great job.

  16. These are just right up my alley!! I love the flavors and would definitely be great for an in-person shower too. So glad we surprised Megan!

  17. heatherscholten

    Oh these look like heaven. I love salmon and this wrap idea is just perfect. Do you need my address? :) Great post!!

    xo
    Heather

    • Thanks, Heather! I’d love to send you one of these salmon wraps, but I think by the time it went from Houston to the Palouse, it wouldn’t be fit to eat. Especially with our heat. You know what would be great with these? Deviled eggs. :)

      I love that you and Megan have started meeting when she visits Ben. I’m totally jealous! Megan’s photos of that area of Washington are enough to make anybody pack up their belongings and move there ASAP. It’s gorgeous!

  18. FACT: I almost peed myself with those pictures. I want one. Can I come visit you so you can make it for me? I’ll bring the wine/beer/margs/mojitos/all of the above.
    This was so much fun – I can’t wait to do it IRL on The Compound!

    • Wow…that’s a ringing endorsement! I just don’t know if it’s for my salmon wraps or panty liners. Guess it Depends. Ha! If you decide to come for a visit, I will gladly make you one of these. And/or anything else you want. You & your booze are always welcome, Allison.

  19. Pingback: Melon & Crispy Prosciutto Salad - confessions of a recipe junkie

  20. I love how many fresh ingredients this recipe includes! Plus, the capers are a creative touch! This is such a nice thing that your group has done

    • Thank you, Anna. It was a really fresh wrap, and super easy to put together, too. I tossed in capers because I love them so much and I thought the tart brined capers would pair well with that smokey, creamy salmon. In the end, it was a good call. I think I speak for all of our shower bloggers when I say that we really truly enjoyed putting this together for Megan. She’s a really special lady. Thanks for dropping in and for commenting! -j

  21. Pingback: A Shower for Megan… | Tenaciously Yours,

  22. I love Salmon!! and to turn it into a greek wrap!!! WHOA

  23. Kat

    That you correctly identified Ben as a hunk o burning love this morning just tickled me so for like…the rest of the day.

    I would have never thought of going the Greek route with salmon in anything and yet I fear these will be dancing through my head until the end of time. Or until the next time I run to the store. ;)

    And I’m with Allison. This is lunch every day on The Compound.

    • When I was mulling over a salmon wrap, Greek seemed like a good match to me. The lemon yogurt sauce was perfect with salmon, as were the capers, olives and dill. Not traditional, I’ll admit… but delicious none the less. You’ll have to let me know what you & Marcus thought if you try them. As for Ben, every time I look at those engagement photos, I am touched by how they look at each other. There’s a whole lot of ‘smoulder’ going on, hence the “Hunk o’ Burnin’ Love” title. They’re really cute together.

  24. Claudia

    That superdeliciousmouthwateringlygorgeousibetahintofthatapplewoodsmokewasstillthereredsockeysalmon would never have made it to that wrap had I been anywhere near. I salute your self-control, Jeanne! ;-)
    And best wishes to Megan! If I were in your shoes, I’d put a ring on that man too. Pronto!

    • He is a cutie-patootie. They make the cutest couple. We really surprised her with this shower. It was so much fun. As for the salmon, we might have had to arm wrestle for it. That applewood smoked slab of gorgeouness was absolutely spectacular. I’d be interested to see if you treated it with as much affection as you did that raw herring in Rotterdam. That photo still makes me chuckle, by the way. Great memories, Claudia!

  25. I loooove weddings. So exciting! This recipe not only sounds good, especially with the lemon yogurt sauce, but it looks gorgeous too. Perfect for a shower!

  26. Pingback: eton mess & a surprise virtual hen party | Foodies Love This

  27. Looks like HEAVEN! and I love that cute little string you used to tie them up with. Almost too pretty to eat. You are great at adding those special little touches.

    • Thanks so much L&C. I’ve always believed attention to detail can elevate anything from ordinary to extraordinary. It’s kind of my signature thing. I love those little details. Thanks for noticing!

  28. These wraps look fabulous, Jeanne! You’re right…they do deserve a bow! Looks like such a lovely event and I’m sure Megan was thrilled with all of the virtual goodies! : )

    • Thanks, Anne. Our shower was a sweet surprise for a sweet friend. I don’t know how we kept it a secret for so long, but we pulled it off. What a great line-up, too. Those ladies really outdid themselves.

  29. Pingback: Farmgirl Gourmet Deviled Eggs 3 Ways - A Virtual Bridal Shower for Megan - Farmgirl Gourmet

Leave a comment