Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Cookies

Need cookies in a hurry? Try these beauties!

Forty-five minutes. That’s all you’ll need. Seriously, that’s how quick and easy these cookies are. See for yourself!

NanaBread’s Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Cookies:
1 cup of creamy peanut butter
1 cup of Peanut Butter & Co.’s Dark Chocolate Dreams Peanut Butter
1 1/2 cups of granulated sugar
2 large eggs
1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract
1 cup of all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons of baking soda
good pinch of salt
1 cup roasted peanuts (I used lightly salted)

Plus 2-3 tablespoons of sugar for sprinkling on top

Pre-heat your oven to 350F. Dump all cookie ingredients into a mixing bowl and stir until thoroughly combined. The dough will be a little thick, so I used a heavy wooden spoon. Using a cookie scoop or a spoon, form dough into walnut-size or golf ball size balls. {Yes, I said balls. Stop giggling.} Place about 2″ apart on an ungreased non-stick cookie sheet (or use silpat mats, if you have them) and sprinkle with additional granulated sugar. Bake for 10-14 minutes, or until the cookies start to crack as seen in the photos. Remove from the oven and allow them to cool completely. Makes 24-30 cookies.

See? Chocolate peanut butter cookies in under an hour. Start to finish. It might take longer to run to the store for a gallon of milk. Now let’s dig in!

Seriously. Is there anything better than warm cookies & cold milk?

18 Comments

Filed under Food & Recipes

18 responses to “Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Cookies

  1. Ummm, I think those should be illegal. I’m wiping the drool and forcing myself to go workout now…

  2. Dark. Chocolate. Dreams. Peanut. Butter.

    Le sigh.

    How I miss the days of flavored peanut butters. You’d better believe that I could replicate these with a little SunButter and cocoa powder, though, and I shall! The boys have been begging for cookies. They’re really shameless about it too. You know, because we suffer under a continual shortage of baked goods around here…NOT! ;)

    I think I’ll whip these up & tell them they are from you. They’ll be thrilled.

    • Those last two sentences you wrote have got to be one of the best compliments I’ve ever gotten. I always feel a little guilty when I post recipes with nuts since I know they’re banned in your home (stupid food allergies!). But then I remember that you are the Queen of SunButter, as well as a clever little minx, so I know you’ll be able to adapt it for your boys. I’m nominating you for ‘Mother of the Year’. Does that come with a stipend or a statuette? It is awards season, after all.

  3. Jeanne, these look delicious! I’m pinning them right now to try!

    • Thanks, Jennifer! My favorite thing about this recipe is that they’re SO fast & easy to make. No wait, it’s that they’re delicious. Mmmm… maybe it’s because they’re ready in a snap. Nope, nope… it’s that they’re delicious. :)

  4. Amy

    No. There isn’t anything better than warm cookies and cold milk. True fact.

  5. Looks totally scrumpt.

    However, I probably wouldn’t make it past the dough.

    The dough is my devil. It latches on and won’t let go.

    • Me, too! My worst offender – chocolate chip cookie dough. Why bother baking it when it tastes so good straight out of the bowl? Guess that’s why people invented cookie dough ice cream, cookie dough truffles, cookie dough-filled cupcakes. Forget acai berries. Cookie dough is one of the world’s true super foods. Am I right, Carrie?

  6. Kat

    There is nothing better. Imagine my surprise when we were flying Frontier and they passed out warm chocolate chip cookies! I decided I was totally down with that.

    Since this involves chocolate AND peanut butter (The only way I can force dessert on Marcus…ever), this is definitely going into the bookmarked pile :)

    • Mmmm…. warm cookies. I had no idea Frontier passed out warm cookies. I thought that was a hoity-toity “For First Class Passengers Only” treat. You go, Frontier! Way to bring warm cookie goodness to the flying masses. A+

  7. I’ve been dreaming of ways to make a cookie that includes peanut butter, chocolate, and marshmallows. Do you think I could adjust this recipe to fit the bill? I’m not even sure how mallows work inside a cookie. I imagine it’s heavenly.

    • You know me, Mads. I’m always playing with my food. I would definitely try making marshmallow chocolate PB cookies with this dough. I would omit the roasted peanuts, then cut a full-sized marshmallow in half and wrap the cookie dough around it. Why not? Just try a few in the first batch you bake and see if it works. You might just invent the next great cookie. But you have to promise to tell me if you try it. Or at the very least, send me pictures.

      • Oh, you’ll be the first to know. I have 2 jars of Fluff staring at me from the cupboard. I might do a filling of some sort. This is going to be awesome!

  8. Pat Counts

    Seriously good. Thank you so very much!! They were yummy. Pat

  9. I really gotta jump on the chocolate peanut butter band wagon. ‘Cause for realsies – these need to be sourced.

    • That Peanut Butter & Co. Dark Chocolate Dreams peanut butter really is terrific. I’ve heard great things about their white chocolate PB, too, but that one will have to wait. I’m dying to try Biscoff spread next and see what all the fuss is about. Maybe even make some mug cakes with it. Hmmm… where could a girl find a recipe for Biscoff mug cakes?

Leave a comment