My Cookie Craving: Kaki’s Gingersnaps

Rich, chewy and exceptionally flavorful with a gorgeous sugar-coated crackled top. That describes my friend Kaki’s homemade gingersnaps. She made them last December for our big blow-out holiday Cookiepalooza, and I haven’t stopped thinking about them since. Yesterday morning, I couldn’t stand it any longer. I baked a double batch. And the world seemed sunnier because of it.

Kaki’s Gingersnaps:

  • ¾ cup shortening
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 4 tablespoons molasses
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon candied ginger, minced (optional)
  • 1/2 cup additional sugar, for coating
  • 1 package white chocolate coating, for dipping (optional)

Preheat oven to 350.  In a large bowl, cream shortening and sugar together until light and fluffy; add the egg and molasses and mix until well blended. In a medium bowl, sift together the dry ingredients then add the candied ginger if you’re using it and toss to coat the ginger. Combine the dry and wet ingredients and mix until thoroughly combined.

Shape a tablespoon of dough into a ball and roll it in sugar, setting it onto a parchment-lined baking sheet. Personally, I like to use a 1″ cookie scoop and drop the scoop into a small bowl of sugar. It works just as well and each cookie comes out exactly the same size as the next. I’m sort of obsessive about stuff like that, but that’s just me.  Bake each tray of cookies for 12-14 minutes. Allow cookies to cool completely, then you can decide to dip or not to dip.

This is Kaki – making gingersnaps

This is Kaki making her gingersnaps. When she made them in December, we dipped them in white chocolate. And they were delicious. If you’d like to dip yours, melt a package of white chocolate or candy coating according to package instructions. Dip cookies half-way, scraping the bottom of the cookie along the edge of the bowl or pan to remove the excess. Place on parchment or wax paper and allow to set up until firm to the touch. If you’re in a pinch for time, you can pop the tray into the refrigerator or freezer for a  few minutes. Then bag and tag them. A single batch makes 24-30 cookies.

I liked them both ways – plain and dipped. But if I were to sit and eat them with a big glass of milk like The Complete Package and I did yesterday, I prefer them unadorned. Just plain, simple, powerful ginger goodness. But you try them both ways and judge for yourself. Will you be a white chocolate-dipped lover or a plain old-fashioned fan? Truthfully, I’ll take them any way I can get them.

Go on and bake some. You know you want to.

18 Comments

Filed under Food & Recipes

18 responses to “My Cookie Craving: Kaki’s Gingersnaps

  1. Kaki’s recipe looks great and the cookies look delicious. I love a chewy ginger cookie and oddly enough, as good as they are I only normally bake them at Christmas time. This post has me craving some now :)

    • I’m a ‘gingersnaps for Christmas’ kind of girl, too. But I just kept thinking obsessively about these. So glad I broke down and baked them!

  2. Yum – you are so right – I really do! They look awesome.

  3. bakeaholicmama

    oooo these look heavenly. Nothing better than a good ginger snap!

  4. I want to! I want to!

  5. These look great! The texture of the cookies have me drooling.

    • I agree. I love that crackly sugar-crusted texture. And then you bite into them and they’re perfectly chewy. They really are a perfect gingersnap in my book. Hope you’ll try them, Brittany. If you do, let me know what you think.

  6. I absolutely love gingersnaps, but I only think of making them around the Holidays. Maybe I need to break out of that rut and bake up a batch this week. In the springtime! Yeah, I’m dangerous like that.

  7. Kat

    Cookiepalooza is being added to the list of events that will be hosted at The Compound. Because we need Kaki and her ilk to show their lovely faces. Fact.

    • Trust me… if The Compound lands in Texas, there will be no shortage of visitors. Especially when we host those special food-centric events like PieDay Fridays, Cookiepalooza, Smokey Meat Round-Ups, Pancake Suppers, Chili & Beer on the Porch, etc.

  8. thegrommom

    OK…I’m excited to be the commenter who has OFFICIALLY TASTED AND EXPERIENCED Nanabread’s (okay, Kaki’s If I must…) Gingersnaps! I am here to report that even after travelling over land and sea to Hawaii, these babies were to-die-for delicious! The kids were all over them….Baby woke up the day after they arrived pointing and reaching for them. Texture–superb. Flavor, spot-on! Thanks so much for sharing them!!!
    Aloha to you, and feel free to bake up more any time…any time that is that you have a box ready to ship…haha! :)
    XOXO

    • I’m so happy they made it from Houston to Hawaii without losing freshness or texture. It’s good to know that these are great ‘traveling’ cookies that can hold up to shipping. Also thrilled you enjoyed them so much – you AND your boys. Thanks for the review, Monica! It’s always great to get feedback on a recipe. I thoroughly enjoyed sending you that box of Texas goodies. We’ll have to do it again some time!

  9. This looks like an excellent version of ginger cookies. I am printing out a copy of the recipe to make in December when we have a houseful of children home for the Christmas holidays….I am planning in advance:-)

    • I love this recipe. When we made them for Cookiepalooza, Kaki dipped them in white chocolate and they were awesome. When I made them, I tried them without the white chocolate dip, and you know what? I liked them even better. That soft chewy texture with a hint of crispy around the edges just knocks my socks off every single time. Your kids are going to love these! So happy you dropped by to visit.

Leave a comment