Cherry Amaretto Granitas

It’s Cocktail Week, which means my blogging buddies and I couldn’t resist the temptation of yet another collaboration. With the July 4th holiday and summer high temps just around the corner, what could be better than cocktails? Nothing! (That’s what WE said!) Here’s my contribution to quenching the proverbial thirst while battling record highs in Houston. You knew it had to be frozen.

Cherry Amaretto Granitas:
Makes 4 cocktails, 4 granitas OR 4 poptails

8 ozs. frozen dark sweet cherries
1/4 cup cherry jam or preserves
1/2 cup simple syrup
1/4 cup Pinnacle Whipped Cream Vodka
1/4 cup Amaretto
2-3 drops of red food color (optional)

Note: To make simple syrup, combine 1 cup of sugar with 1 cup of water in a saucepan; bring to a boil, then remove from heat and cool completely.

In a blender, combine all of the ingredients above and blend until the cherries are almost pureed. Pour the mixture into a shallow glass dish and place into the freezer until firm. This may take up to 2 hours, but it can also be made in advance and kept in the freezer until ready to serve.

To serve, use a fork to flake the frozen concoction into a slushy texture. Spoon the slush into an elegant flute or pretty glass and serve with an iced tea spoon and a straw. For a spritzer, add a touch of ginger ale. If you prefer, you can spoon the slush into small bowls and serve as a boozy adults-only granita. Either way, you’ll want to lick the vessel clean.

Speaking of, you can also turn these into grown-up Poptails by boosting the simple syrup amount up to 3/4 cup and reducing the whipped cream vodka to 1/8 cup, which will allow the mixture to freeze hard. Just adjust your liquids and pour the mixture into popsicle molds. Allow them to freeze overnight for best results. Just be sure to mark them “For Adults Only” and keep them out of the reach of children. Who says kids should have all the fun this summer?

Special thanks to: my mother, who helped develop & test way too many cocktails over the past 10 days & my friend Kirsten, who inspired this concoction with a jar of the most wonderful homemade Michigan cherry jam. I couldn’t have done it without either of you ladies. Thanks so much!

Mom takes one for the team by sampling a Cherry Amaretto Poptail

And now, be sure to drop in on these fabulous cocktails:

The Raging Aztec Frappe – by Megan of Wanna Be A Country Cleaver (her post includes a giveaway of a FABulous KitchenAid blender; how convenient!)

Peach Pie Prosecco Palmer – by Allison of Decadent Philistines

Raspberry Thyme Tom Collins – by Carrie of Bakeaholic Mama

Traverse City Cherry Mojitos – by Kirsten of Comfortably Domestic

Amaretto Sours – by Kat of Tenaciously Yours

Watermelon Mojos – by Katie of The Hill Country Cook

Palomas – by Lauren of Climbing Grier Mountain

Radlermass – by Allison of Decadent Philistines Save the World

Blueberry Smash Cocktail – by Madeline of Munching in the Mitten

Peach Bellinis – from Madelyn of La Petite Pancake

And there’s still more to come! Allison is prepping an Anniversary Sgroppino Cocktail, Megan is mixing up a Lavender Lemonade, Carrie is stirring up a Funfetti Martini, Lauren is shaking up a Vodka Gimlet, and I’ll be back soon with a Raspberry Mojito so good my mother gave it ‘two thumbs – way up!’

Don’t forget to drop in on Megan of Wanna Be A Country Cleaver and enter to win that gorgeous KitchenAid Blender. It’s a fabulous addition to any kitchen, and the color will blow your socks off. As if that isn’t enough, she’s giving readers a buhzillion ways to enter, so check it out and tell her NanaBread sent you. Good luck and happy sipping!

26 Comments

Filed under Blogger Collaborations, Food & Recipes

26 responses to “Cherry Amaretto Granitas

  1. I’ve never heard of a poptail before, which makes me incredibly sad. THIS. IS. GENUIS. Your cocktail is so creative!
    I can officially say that Kirsten’s jam would improve any cocktail.

    Love the pic of your mom!

  2. Consider these made! Well…on the 4th of July consider them made.

  3. Love the photo of your Mom. Her facial expression is all I need to give these a try someday (both the cocktail and the poptails!)

    • Thanks, Paula. I loved that she was so willing to pose for photos. I probably have the booze to thank. Just kidding… she’s a lot of fun and always up for a giggle.

  4. OK, your mom is super cute. Can she please adopt me?
    Also, I have those same popsicle molds, and we promptly broke them. What’s your secret.
    Finally, YUM. I totally want these. I mean, I’ll have to go out and buy more cherries…. darn. One of my favorite cookbooks has a chocolate almond cherry smoothie that I make all the time – the flavors are amazing together, so I can’t wait to try these!

    • She has 5 daughters and a handful of granddaughters. She doesn’t need to adopt you. You just need to show up and blend in. My secret on the popsicle molds is that this was the first time we used them. I bought them for summer popsicles for the grandkids. Ooops.

  5. Big Sis

    LOL!! I love the pic of mom, and dang it! I left town too early it looks like. :(

    • You did leave too early. The best two cocktails of the week happened right after you left. Rest assured, we drank them in your honor. I guess next time we’ll just have to double-up and make 2-a-days to get them all in!

  6. Yum! Looks amazing! Love the idea of a spritzer with ginger ale!

    • Thank you, Madeline. The spritzer was my favorite version, although the popsicle was fun as well. The flavor combination of this one makes it surprisingly versatile. And delicious.

  7. bakeaholicmama

    The “poptail” is such a great idea!

  8. Pingback: Friday Food Round-Up! | Tenaciously Yours,

  9. Kat

    1. I cannot WAIT to unleash poptails on the world. Jello shots have always been a major PI(my)A and this just seems like the most rambunctious way to serve anyone anything.
    2. I will inhale any-cherry-thing any time anywhere.
    3. Your mother is just beautiful! Seriously. I would love to age that way.

  10. Pingback: Mom’s Favorite Raspberry Mojitos | Inside NanaBread's Head

  11. Pingback: Country Cleaver » Cocktail Week – Day 5 – Cherry Amaretto Granitas & Sgroppino

  12. Pingback: Flocking | Tenaciously Yours,

  13. First of all–your mother is absolutely gorgeous. God willing I will look half that good when my future daughters-in-law and I are creating cocktails.

    Second–the cherry amaretto granita is further proof that we are twins separated at birth. Cherry/almond is my favorite combo of all time. I love granitas during the summer, but I never thought to add booze to the mix. (Duh.) LOVE! The poptails would make a great dessert for the grown-ups at a summer barbecue. Hey Ferb! I know what we’re going to do this week!

    Third–I need to make more jam before I can recreate any of this…dang!

    • Out of cherry jam? OUT OF CHERRY JAM?!?! How can that be possible? Hey… when you make a new batch, can I get another small jar? {heh heh} I used the end of mine in these granitas, so it died a glorious and noble death. We drank a toast to you to celebrate.

      • Well aren’t y’all sweet!

        I don’t know how in the world I ran out of cherry jam. Truth be told, I have one more jar, but if I use it out from under Bacon Slayer & my dad, there’s gonna be trouble. Rest assured that you will be getting a jar from my next batch. The Great Jam Swap 2012 will commence again in October! I’m already hoarding new varietals for you. ;)

  14. Pingback: One Kitchen, Many Hearts – June Edition « Comfortably Domestic

  15. Pingback: Country Cleaver » Cocktail Day 6 – Lavender Blueberry Lemonade & Raspberry Mojitos & Funfetti Martini & KITCHENAID GIVEAWAY!

Leave a comment